Spring runnin’ | Playlist

As we welcome March with its longer days, frequent hay-fever occurrences and daffodil-lined streets, most people use this time to ‘spring clean’ their lives/living spaces.  Personally, I am more delighted that gale-forced winds and dark nights are soon over so frequent outdoor running sessions will be back in my diary.

Nike Running - 3.55 km

A year ago, spring marked the start of my over-consumption of Mini Eggs, induced by the excitation that they are supermarket regulars once more.  This year, I am loading on complex carbs and lean protein in time for my first 10 K in two weeks’ time.

My first parkrun a couple of weeks ago has highlighted the benefits of running outdoor to train: the faster runners running past motivated me to change my pace and increase my speed, as well as the cheerful crowd and volunteers who urged and applauded individuals as we cross each kilometre.

However, the main push came from my iPhone.  I never thought Major Lazer would push me to the last kilometre or so of a run but, with success, I was able to beat my PB by just under 3 minutes (!!!), with the help of their May 2013 work-out playlist – motivational music at its best!  Nothing beats the satisfaction you feel when there is a well-matched thump thump thump as you pound the pavements, making you run further and faster.

Here are my top picks for songs to accompany you on your next run:

Adrian Lux – Teenage Crime

Years & Years – Traps (Armeria Remix)

Hannah Wants & Chris Lorenzo – Rhymes

Janet Jackson – If (Kaytranada Remix)

BEAR//FACE – Taste My Sad

Blonde – I Loved You (ft. Melissa Steele)

Diplo – Express Yourself (ft. Nicky Da B)

What are your running/work-out tracks for Spring?

Published by

Julia Anduiza

Kitchen experiments and creations of a Chemistry graduate. A recent convert to the plant-based world, what originally was intended for my thrifty student days, has turned into my lifestyle. My passion lies in cooking anything from the plant kingdom, from your humble tubers to your ostentatious berries. Currently, I am devouring local and seasonal food, as well as reaping in the benefits of living ethically and sustainably - and I hope I inspire others to do the same too!

2 thoughts on “Spring runnin’ | Playlist”

    1. Thank you! Yes the chat today was so helpful… thanks for the recommendations! Need it for a newbie runner like me. I hope your run goes smoothly.

Leave a comment