Chocolate + banana pancakes

Chocolate + banana pancakes

Pancakes aren’t just for Shrove Tuesday; they are for life.

As it was Pancake Day a few days ago, I celebrated by creating a stack of 6 pancakes, made from awesomely whole and healthy ingredients.  I cannot tell you how quickly I devoured the whole stack, leaving a very clean plate at the end.

Posting two pancake recipes in a row, it is clear that Pancake Day is one of my favourite days of the year.  I, of course, made sure that every single one of my Snapchat friends got a close-up of my latest creation.  Many friends commented that they weren’t able to make pancakes on a weekday morning/night due to time constraints.  If you’re part of this brigade, why not try my recipe for brunch this weekend?

Chocolate + banana pancakes

This is a variation of my banana + coconut pancakes, with some added cocoa goodness.  It’s quite indulgent for a weekday breakfast, yes, but it is so easy to whip up (thank you blender!) yet so impressive that it will withstand any brunch dates you may have planned in the near future.

Chocolate + banana pancakes

For one very hungry person

Ingredients

1 ripe banana

2 eggs

1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tbsp oats

1 tsp baking powder

Coconut oil or low-fat butter, for cooking

Method

1. Add all the batter ingredients in a blender.  Blitz until well-combined.

2.  Set a pan on medium heat and add the coconut oil/low-fat butter once the pan is hot enough for it to melt easily.

3.  Once melted, add the pancake batter.  I added enough to create 5/6 cm diameter pancakes.

4.  Top with your favourite toppings – I added banana coins in between each pancake layer, a few dollops of Greek yoghurt and some sweet strawberries on top, with some maple syrup drizzled all over my pancake tower.

Pancake day

Such a simple recipe with some cupboard essentials; you’re now able to make pancakes on a whim even on busy weekday mornings!

Published by

Julia Anduiza

Kitchen experiments and creations of a Chemistry graduate. A recent convert to the plant-based world, what originally was intended for my thrifty student days, has turned into my lifestyle. My passion lies in cooking anything from the plant kingdom, from your humble tubers to your ostentatious berries. Currently, I am devouring local and seasonal food, as well as reaping in the benefits of living ethically and sustainably - and I hope I inspire others to do the same too!

Leave a Reply

